Picture
I made this cake just because I wanted to try this special recipe. It's a date cake with Meringue butter cream, flavored with a little bit of Baileys Irish cream,...oh my goodness was it delicious. The cake was a sheet cake that I cut in five and stacked and so it was five layers of deliciousness.
Picture
This cake survived a five hour car ride to my friends house in Virginia...it was a winner for sure!
10/9/2011 06:38:29 am

Hi Shirley! I have been looking for two years for an inspiration to help me make a sukkah cake and i finally found it! This cake is magnificent. Would you mind sharing with me exactly how you got that perfect brown for the walls?

Reply
10/10/2011 11:50:24 am

Hi Ilana

Thank you :-)
I just use the brown wilton gel colors, a little bit on a tooth pick and mix it into the fondant add more until you get the desired color.

Reply
Lauren
10/10/2011 11:44:00 pm

I love this cake! Is the entire outside fondant? How did you make the leaves on top?

Reply
10/11/2011 07:18:31 am

Hi Lauren

It is covered in fondant and the decorations are made of fondant as well.
The leaves on the top is just rolled fondant that I sliced into shape with an exacto knife. you can roll it into a snake shape, flatten it with the palm of your hand and than slit it along the sides to create the palm leaf shape.

Reply



Leave a Reply.